Fear of Death

Fear of death is something that has been torturing me since a very young age. After the loss of a close family friend a few months ago, then my grandma’s and more recently a family member’s miscarriage I have been thinking about death constantly. A few days ago these grim thoughts inspired me to write a poem. Here is part of it:

“It hurts, the pain taking over my being

The end, nothingness, poisonous sting

 

Poisoning my brain, my thoughts, my actions

Forcing me to stay still, avoid any reactions

 

My fear of death controlling me

Fear of success, of failure, fear of being

 

Because being means time is passing by

Time passing by means death will come by”

“Not sure how to overcome my sorrow

Not sure how to not fear of lack of tomorrow”

 

~

ps. The inspiration behind this poem can be found on my personal blog.

Leave a comment